Jesus is …

… the reason for the season.

Last Christmas, and many Christmases before that one, I have seen those words on signs outside various churches around many towns. I remember the first time I saw it, I thought how untrue it was. Here was the Xmas rush happening around me, more traffic, more toys, more goods to be enjoyed or ignored or broken and thrown away, and tons of dead trees to make all that xmas wrapping that gets wasted, for the most part? Presents for everyone who could afford them, and if they couldn’t .. hand-outs are hard to come by, though so many good groups of people try to help those who live below the poverty line. Mannon is the reason for the xmas silly season, because we actually have no idea when Jesus was born, we only have speculation.

Easter .. to me Easter is when Jesus is the reason for the season, not the chocolate eggs, and bunnies and bilbies, and chickens, and the ‘buy more’ mentality that so many people seem to suffer from even now. Jesus died for us, and rose again .. three days later …

So here I am sitting in Good Friday and contemplating the curiousity, the question, of how someone can die on a Friday and rise again on Sunday – and there’s supposed to be three days, 72 hours, or so, between the two .. let me count on my fingers, because that’s what I did when I first asked this question – when I was a child – because it hasn’t made sense since then!

Died on Friday .. 24 hours to saturday, 24 hours to sunday, 24 hours to monday .. Umm…. couldn’t the people who created this story count?

A few years ago I looked the subject up on the internet and found many interesting discussions on the Passover over 2000 years ago. Thanks to the wonders of computer technology we now know the date, or the estimated date .. and then have the choice of saying ‘died on friday, rescurrected on monday before dawn’, or ‘died on thursday and resurrected on sunday before dawn’. Most writer’s agreed that he died before 3.00pm whichever day it was .. and so his rising would have been, allowing three days (and nights), around 3.00pm on the sunday .. and yet he was on his feet to greet Mary at the tomb just as the sun rose. So .. that brings the question of Thursday being too soon to make the prophecy fit. How about Wednesday? Died around 3.00pm, Thursday, Friday, up around Saturday 3.00pm .. did he hide until dawn the next day? Given what he was supposed to have gone through, I think I would be hiding too, or just simply resting .. since no one came near him on the Sabbath day we don’t know.

All in all its quite a mystery, wouldn’t you say?

Love & Peace
Ama

One thought on “Jesus is …

  1. stefan says:

    I fully share your confusions, Ama, about those two big seasonal events. When I was an inquisitive teenager I asked our school reverend teacher how is it possible that last year Jesus was crucified at the end of March and this year He was ressurected in April? Did He died twice or what. His reply was brief but memorable: “curiosity, my boy, is the first step on the way to hell”. In heretical England I discovered two things: Easter was a “movable” mooon-controlled occasion and its name was a modern version of the old Saxon goddess of spring. So what are we really celebrating? We are celebrating a distant memory of a key event in the Christian religion, nothing else. Jewish calendar was based on lunar events.The death and resurrection of Jesus happened around the Feast of Passover, which is a movable feast.
    love and peace

Leave a Reply

